## W0BLK BLACK HILLS AMATEUR RADIO CLUB, INC.

3288 Sandstone Lane Rapid City, SD 57701-5388

**Call to Order:** The BHARC meeting was called to order at 7:30 pm on 17 August 2018 by President Mike Schaff held at the EOC Building. There were 28 members present and 1 visitor. The sign in sheet is attached to original meeting minutes maintained by the Secretary.

Matt Holden, K0BBC held a presentation via videoconference at the EOC. Matt presented updates on ARES, monitoring, and pictures during his activities at Prince Edward Island. Laura Smith is in charge of amateur radio enforcement at the FCC. Chris Stallkamp, our SD ARRL section manager, is our point of contact for any amatuer radio violations. Matt offered to do these presentations for the club in the future.

**Secretary's Report:** The BHARC meeting minutes was sent out prior via email to officers and board members for review, and after approval, was sent out to the rest of the club members. Bob Ewing made a motion to approve; none opposed.

**Treasurer's Report:** Dustin Willett provided copies of the Treasurer's Report. Cathy Halgerson made a motion to approve; none opposed.

**Old Business:** Mike Schaff discussed the club logo. A picture of the original logo from Gary and a second logo was given for the members to review and vote on. It was decided to have the members email Betty Smith their decision regarding which one they would prefer. The members can also decide what the members would like regarding apparel with the club logo on it.

## **New Business:**

- 1. Events:
  - a. Disaster Awareness Day held on Main Street; 9 Sep; POC: Bob Ewing
  - b. Summit to Summit; 22 Sep; POC: Don Jarvinen
  - c. Simulated emergency event: 6 Oct; POC: Bob Ewing
  - d. Veteran's March: 15 Sep; POC: Bob Ewing
  - e. Crazy Horse Walk; 30 Sep; POC: Karen K0DUW
- 2. If anyone took pictures of the tailgate auction, please send them to Don Jarvinen.
- 3. The Annual BHARC meeting will be held on 9 Sep at 6:00pm at the Pizza Ranch near Sam's club. Nominations for board members and club officers were made as follows:
  - 1. Board Members:
    - a. Dustin Willett nominated Bob Henriksen to continue to serve on the board
    - b. Bob Ewing nominated Chris Jaques to serve as a board member.
    - c. Bob Ewing nominated Brad Bradfield to serve as a board member.
  - 2. Club Officers:

- a. For President; Bob Ewing nominated Ryan Lindblom.
- b. For Vice President, Bob Ewing nominated Mike Schaff.
- c. For Treasurer; Chris Jaques nominated Dustin Willett.
- d. For Secretary; Bob Ewing nominated Betty Smith.

**Adjourn:** At 8:54 pm, Bob Ewing made a motion to adjourn the meeting; none opposed.

**BETTY M. SMITH**, KA7PJQ BHARC Secretary